Uttar Pradesh, Bihar bypolls today: Voter turn out in Gorakhpur 16.8%, in Phulpur 12.2% by 11 AM


Lok Sabha by-election is being held in two constituencies in Uttar Pradesh today – Gorakhpur and Phulpur.

In Bihar, by-election for Lok Sabha constituency Araria and two assembly constituencies — Bhabua and Jehanabad — is being held today.

The voter turn out in Gorakhpur by 11 AM was 16.8% while that in Phulpur was 12.2%.

While Araria recorded 31.25% voter turn out, Bhabua did 24.5% and Jehanabad did 28.6% by 12 PM in the Assembly bypolls today.


The two constituencies necessitated by-election after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their seats in Gorakhpur and Phulpur, respectively, on taking office.

Adityanath had held the since 1998 before his elevation as chief minister.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielded Upendra Shukla from Gorakhpur, the Samajwadi Party (SP) has Praveen Nishad from the constituency.

The Congress is fighting on its own and has named Surahita Kareem as its candidate.

Gorakhpur has 970 polling centres and 2,141 polling stations.

There are 19.49 lakh eligible voters including over 8 lakh women.

In Phulpur, Kaushalendra Singh Patel is contesting for the BJP, Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel for SP and Manish Mishra for Congress.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) have extended their support to the SP candidate.

In the Phulpur seat of Allahabad, which was represented by Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya, has 793 polling centres and 2,059 polling stations.

Heavy security has been deployed in the constituency. A total of 19.63 lakh voters will decide the fate of 22 candidates.


Bihar’s Araria Lok Sabha seat fell vacant with the death of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MP Mohammad Taslimuddin. Here, RJD has fielded Sarafaraz Alam, Taslimuddin’s son, and the BJP has fielded Pradip Singh.

The bypolls are seen as a litmus test for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar after he pulled out of the state’s Grand Alliance and joined the BJP.

Whether or not the RJD will be able to capitalise on Muslim and Yadav votes by fielding Alam is to be seen.

The BJP State President Nityanand Rai said, “If Sarfaraz Alam wins the by poll then Araria will become hub of ISI,” and now, a complaint has been lodged against Rai on charges of violating model code of conduct.

Voting has begun in Araria constituency.

The Bhabua assembly seat got vacant after the death of BJP’s Anand Bhushan Pandey, and the party has fielded his widow Rinki Rani Pandey. Congress has fielded a Kurmi candidate, Shambu Nath Patel.

The Jehanabad assembly seat fell vacant with the death of RJD MLA Mundrika Singh Yadav. Here, Yadav’s son Uday Yadav is contesting for the seat for RJD. Another key candidate in the fray is JDU’s Abhiram Sharma.

There occured a firing between two groups at booth number 94 for the Jahanabad Assembly bypoll. The District Magistrate and Superintendent of Police have been rushed to the spot.

CM Adiyanath was confident that the BJP would win with massive majority in both the Gorakhpur and Phulpur bypolls.

He said that PM Modi’s governance of development will prove fruitful for the BJP even in the 2019 elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here