- Advertisement -
Home Personal Finance Bank Holiday: Banks will remain open today and tomorrow, RBI issued order

Bank Holiday: Banks will remain open today and tomorrow, RBI issued order

Bank Holiday: Banks will remain open today and tomorrow, RBI issued order

RBI has instructed agency banks to remain open on both 30th and 31st March. Due to the end of the financial year, these banks will complete the work related to government receipts and payments.

Banks open today: The current financial year 2023-24 ends on 31 March. As per the instructions of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), some banks will have to open for government transactions on Saturday (30 March) and Sunday (31 March). According to a recent notification from RBI, the Central Government has requested the agency banks to open all their branches dealing with Government Receipts and Payments. The notification reads, “The Government of India has requested to keep the branches of all banks related to government transactions open for transactions on March 31, 2024 (Sunday), so that receipts can be issued in the financial year 2023-24 itself. And to account for all government transactions related to payments. Accordingly, agency banks are advised to open all their government business branches on March 31, 2024 (Sunday).”

What are agency banks?

The Reserve Bank of India has designated 12 public sector banks, 20 private banks and one foreign bank as agency banks. These agency banks also perform the work of the central government. These agency banks are:

  1. Bank of Baroda
  2. Bank of India
  3. Bank of Maharashtra
  4. Canara Bank
  5. Central Bank of India
  6. Indian Bank
  7. Indian Overseas Bank
  8. Punjab and Sindh Bank
  9. Punjab National Bank
  10. state Bank of India
  11. UCO Bank
  12. Union Bank of India
  13. Axis Bank Limited
  14. City Union Bank Limited
  15. DCB Bank Limited
  16. Federal Bank Limited
  17. HDFC Bank Limited
  18. ICICI Bank Limited
  19. IDBI Bank Limited
  20. IDFC First Bank Limited
  21. IndusInd Bank Limited
  22. Jammu and Kashmir Bank Limited
  23. Karnataka Bank Limited
  24. Karur Vysya Bank Limited
  25. Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited
  26. RBL Bank Limited
  27. South Indian Bank Limited
  28. Yes Bank Limited
  29. Dhanlaxmi Bank Limited
  30. Bandhan Bank Limited
  31. CSB Bank Limited
  32. Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Limited
  33. DBS Bank India Limited

What will be the work in bank branches?

Customers can transact through National Electronic Funds Transfer (NEFT) and Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) system. Apart from this, agency banks will clear checks linked to government accounts. At the same time, those who want to pay tax to the government can also do so by visiting the branches of agency banks. However, it is not yet clear whether the branches of agency banks will also provide offline services like investment in FD, PPF or updating passbooks and other related activities on Saturdays and Sundays.

- Advertisement -DISCLAIMER
We have taken all measures to ensure that the information provided in this article and on our social media platform is credible, verified and sourced from other Big media Houses. For any feedback or complaint, reach out to us at informalnewz@gmail.com

Exit mobile version