India vs Australia: Wriddhiman Saha could replace wicketkeeping in place of Rishabh Pant due to this ICC rule

0
115
India vs Australia: Wriddhiman Saha could replace wicketkeeping in place of Rishabh Pant due to this ICC rule
India vs Australia: Wriddhiman Saha could replace wicketkeeping in place of Rishabh Pant due to this ICC rule

India vs Australia: Rishabh Pant suffered an elbow injury, due to which he could be out of the third Test against Australia.

new Delhi. The Indian team (Team India), already troubled by the injuries of players on the Australian tour, has suffered two major setbacks on the third day of the Sydney Test. Ravindra Jadeja and Rishabh Pant were taken for a scan after being hit by Australian fast bowlers. The play of these two in the third Test has become doubtful. India got its first setback when wicket-keeper batsman Pant suffered an elbow injury. Reserve wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha replaced him under ICC rules.




Rules were changed before four

According to ICC rules between 1980 and 2017, fielders were not allowed to take wicketkeeping in place of injured players. Melbourne Cricket Club made a rule for the first time in October 2017 that even the Substitute Fielder will be able to do wicketkeeping if the wicketkeeper is injured. However, the field umpire will have to keep in mind that no player can unnecessarily take advantage of this rule. India took advantage of this rule for the first time. Dinesh Karthik wore gloves when Indian wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel was injured during the Johannesburg Test in 2018. Let us know that the Substitute Fielder cannot bowl and bat. Also, he cannot play the role of captaincy. Only in case of concussion (in the head), other players are allowed to bat and bowl.

Pant was hurt in the left elbow,

Rishabh Pant got hurt in the left elbow during the batting on Saturday. He injured himself while playing pool shot on a short ball from Pat Cummins. Pant tied the bandage and returned to the field again, but could not score that fast. He returned with a catch behind the wicket of Josh Hazlewood.

Jadeja suffered a thumb injury

after this. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has suffered an injury to his left thumb and it is not possible for him to bowl in Australia’s second innings in the third Test. He was hit by Mitchell Starc’s short ball on the glove, prompting immediate treatment.

Also Read: Shoaib Akhtar claims – De Villiers also used to be helpless in front of this bowler.

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here