Monday, June 24, 2024
HomeSportsLet’s Look Back At Some All-Time Best Moments in Indian Cricket

Let’s Look Back At Some All-Time Best Moments in Indian Cricket

India and Cricket have become synonymous. The roots date back to 1700 when Cricket was first introduced by the British. It was in 1721 when Indians played their first match. With the efforts of several Indian cricketers and their coaches, the Indian Cricket Team has achieved unachievable heights. 

Top Moments in Indian Cricket History

Top Moments in Indian Cricket

1983 World Cup Final

The 1983 World Cup was the first World Cup win for India. The historic moment was marked by Kapil Dev, the captain of the Indian Cricket Team at that time, lifting the world cup at Lord’s. He inspired his fellow players to play fiercely. On 25th January 1983, the match was played between India and West Indies. The latter was bowled out at 140 runs by the Indian Cricket Team.

Natwest Series Finals (2002)

The unforgettable memory of Sourav Ganguly waving his t-shirt in the air makes the match much more memorable. Ganguly was the captain of the Indian Cricket team at that time. Twenty years ago, Ganguly and his team defeated England by two wickets to win the Natwest Trophy.

In the finals, India had to secure 326 to win a match. The young duo of Mohammad Kaif and Yuvraj Singh made a partnership of 121 runs to make Indians witness the iconic victory.

2007 T20 World Cup Win for Indian Cricket team

Misbah Ul Haque vs Joginder Sharma in the last over of the match. It was a nail-biting moment for people across India and Pakistan. Gambhir’s magnificent innings of 75 led India to an amazing first T20 World Cup win. Captain cool MS Dhoni and his fierce team led the team to glory.

Also Read- T20I World Cup Moments for India

2011 World Cup Final

The final match witnessed Sri Lanka making 274 runs. Gambhir and Dhoni took the onus on their shoulders and showed us the path of victory. Gambhir scored 97 runs and Dhoni scored 91 off 79 balls. We all remember Ravi Shastri’s commentary “ Dhoni finishes off in style. A magnificent strike into the crowd. India lifts the world cup after 28 years and the party begins in the dressing room”.

2013 Champions Trophy Finals

The rain-affected Champion Trophy Finals witnessed India losing in the first half. MS Dhoni spelt his magic once again and finally, India won the match by five runs by defeating England. With the win in the 2013 Champions Trophy Finals in Birmingham, Mahendra Singh Dhoni became the only captain in the history of cricket to have won all three ICC trophies.

Visit Cricreads for all these live updates, news and blogs on Cricket.


Parvesh Maurya
Parvesh Maurya
Parvesh Maurya, has 5 years of experience in writing Finance Content, Entertainment news, Cricket and more. He has done BA in English. He loves to Play Sports and read books in free time. In case of any complain or feedback, please contact me @
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments