Gambhir said – Dhoni won the ‘World Cup’ because of this former captain


Former India team opener Gautam Gambhir believes that Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been a very lucky captain, as he had got an amazing team in every format. He said that former fast bowler Zaheer Khan is behind the success of Dhoni as captain.

Gautam Gambhir said in Star Sports show ‘Cricket Connected’, ‘The reason for Dhoni to become such a successful captain in Test cricket is Zaheer Khan. It was his good luck that Dhoni got, the credit goes to Ganguly. According to me, Zaheer has been India’s best world class fast bowler.

Gautam Gambhir said, ‘Dhoni has been a very lucky captain, because he got an amazing team in every format. The 2011 World Cup was very easy for Dhoni, as we had players like Sachin, Sehwag, myself, Yuvraj, Yusuf and Virat. So he got the best team while Ganguly had to work hard for this and due to which Dhoni won so many trophies.

Also Read: CamScanner’s Indian option Bharat Scanner launched, will get many special features

Earlier, Gautam Gambhir reprimanded those who were merely celebrating Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s six in the 2011 World Cup victory.

Gambhir had said that the 2011 World Cup was won by the entire team, not on the strength of any six. India won the World Cup for the second time after 28 years by defeating Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. In the final, Dhoni hit a six off Nuwan Kulasekara and India became the champion.

A few months ago ESPNcricinfo posted a tweet, in which Cricinfo wrote, posting a picture of the winning six by Dhoni, a single shot that immersed crores of Indians in 2011.

Gambhir responded to this and tweeted, ‘This is just a reminder. The 2011 World Cup was won by the entire India. The entire Indian team had won and its support staff too.

Gambhir played a brilliant innings of 97 runs in that match. At the same time, Dhoni came to bat at number four and he also played an unbeaten 91-run innings and gave India a memorable six-wicket win. Gambhir later wrote in a tweet that the World Cup was won by all Indians.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here